07
Feb
10

Your wish list

We are headed off to Thailand and Laos to shop shop shop.  We know we will be bringing back piles of silk scarves and bags of hilltribe silver.  We’ll be on the lookout for some great carvings, whimsical folk toys and bags made from recycled hilltribe clothing.  What would YOU like to see?

In response to a post below, I’ve added these photos of textile tool we have available now.  Thanks for your patience while I learn how to do all this!  Ann


3 Responses to “Your wish list”


  1. 1 Betty
    February 7, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    Hi, Ann! I’m happy to see the blog — I always look forward to your e-mails. One of my most treasured spindles is one that I got from you when you came to the Peachtree Handspinners Guild with some great stuff a few years ago. I got a great needlecase too. Anyway, I know that some of the hilltribes have a spinning tradition, and I’m sure I’m not the only one who would like to see any tools of the trade you could find. Akha spindles, maybe?

    Although I’ve only made it to the shop a couple of times, my sister is now working just around the corner from you, so I’ll be sure to send her in. Y’all have a good trip!

  2. 2 mingeiworld
    February 7, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    Yes– Akha spindles… I look for them every year and have come up empty for a long time. I’ll try again this year, with renewed vigor and determination thanks to your request! I do seem to always find some cool skeiners and have a few Thai ones left from a previous trip ($10 each and make interesting hangers for narrow textiles) and a few really beautiful Chinese ones as well. A few of the Chinese pieces double as rattles– to amuse the baby while winding yarn. I’ll try to post some photos of these here later today.

    We often find old beater boards from Burmese looms while shopping in Thailand. There are two of these in the store from a our last batch. They are $24 each.

    I will make a special effort to find some textile tools this time, as well as the wonderful textiles found in both Thailand and Laos.

    We look forward to seeing you in the store. Thanks for being the first to comment on our blog!

  3. 3 Betty
    February 9, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    Ooooh, thanks for the pics!


Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other subscribers